Less Wastage in the Kitchen. Making Lettuce Soup!

I hate waste. So I like to find ways to use up leftover food and excess fruit and veggies.

And the perfect way to do this is to go on-line and find recipes. However in these cases I don’t usually stick to the recipe; I just like to get ideas and adapt them to what ingredients I have.

And so that’s how my lettuce soup came about, although I had already had lettuce soup many years before at a local craft group, and was impressed by how good it was! However I also found out that the French have been enjoying this soup for years!

Even better was finding out that you could use the tougher outer lettuce leaves, or limp lettuce!

So, as I had plenty of potatoes as well, I decided to make a lettuce soup with potatoes in it.

My lettuce soup ended up containing approximately:

  • 2 x small lettuces
  • 2 x potatoes, peeled and sliced
  • Salt and pepper, for taste
  • Chicken Stock (approx. 1 cup)
  • Butter (approx. 2 tablespoons)
  • Cream- a dollop swirled on top
  • Shallots and cooked bacon to garnish

Method:

  1. Place lettuce, potatoes, stock, butter and seasoning into a saucepan and simmer for approximately 30 minutes.
  2. When cooled, blend ingredients.
  3. Place back in a saucepan and warm up.
  4. To serve,  add a dollop of cream and swirl through.
  5. Garnish with shallots and cooked bacon.

Delicious served hot or cold!

This is only a guide, and feel free to explore other ingredients and options e.g. you may wish to add onion, or substitute cream for yoghurt.

Enjoy!

Love Mumma G!

Leave a Reply

